Danny Deepak
← All casesPremium salonBengaluruClosed

TONI&GUY Bangalore

Before I joined, sales ran +1.3% on last year. From March, every month beat 2025. Then the leak moved to the chair.

+14.7%

salon revenue on last year from March, when I joined (₹14.04 → ₹16.10 Cr). Jan–Feb ran +1.3%. Measured

A TONI&GUY salon front in Bengaluru
Photo: toniandguyhairdressing.com (client)
₹48.0 Crthrough the till, Jan 2025 – Aug 2026
+1.3% → +14.7%growth on last year: before vs after I joined
₹2.28 → ₹2.68 Craverage month, before vs after
₹2,813average bill in August, ₹170 below last year
Level 1

The 60-second story

For the CEO. Read left to right.
  1. 1Problem

    Sales growth had stalled at +1.3% on last year in Jan-Feb 2026 because average bill fell 13.5%, while Google ran an inherited, unstructured account.

  2. 2The leak

    Leads rose but each returned less: revenue per Google lead fell from ₹3,116 to ₹1,361, and ad money drifted to low-return salons.

  3. 3How I found it

    Joined 20 months of till data to Google exports, then in August joined ad spend to point-of-sale revenue salon by salon.

  4. 4What I did

    Rebuilt Google per salon, launched per-salon Meta, moved the site to Netlify, built a booking app, reported monthly with salon P&L.

  5. 5What changed

    Mar-Aug 2026 revenue +14.7% (₹14.04 to 16.10 Cr), bills +21.6%, on Google spend +74%. Part is seasonal or new-salon capacity.

  6. 6Proof

    20-month point-of-sale and Google Ads ledger (Jan 2025 to Aug 2026) plus the August salon P&L, from the monthly reports.

  7. 7Lesson

    Spend, clicks and leads rose faster than bills. Judge ad money by bills and salon-level return, and test lead counts for definition changes.

Level 2

The business first

Before any channel: what they sell, to whom, and how money comes in.
Business model
Multi-location premium hair salon network in Bangalore: 16 salons on the point-of-sale sheet (Aug 2026), with Lavelle Road and Koramangala 8th Block also carrying ad spend
Industry
Premium salon (haircuts, colour, treatments, packages)
Target customer
Walk-in and local salon customers in Bangalore; Aug 2026 impressions skewed 69.83% male and 13.65% aged 55+ per Google Ads
Geography
Bangalore, India (malls, Nexus, Phoenix, Koramangala, Whitefield, JP Nagar, Hennur and others)
Commercial objective
Salon revenue against monthly store targets (Aug 2026 network target ₹2.96 Cr, 99.5% attained)
How revenue is made
Point-of-sale bills: services, packages (28.1% of Aug sales) and product (5.4%); average bill ₹2,813 in Aug 2026
How they convert
Google conversions (calls, directions, store visits, web) and Meta leads/WhatsApp chats are followed up by salons; booking and billing happen at the salon. No lead-to-chair link exists in the data.
01

What the customer sees: before and after

The same touchpoint on a phone, before my work and after it. Screens are schematic; every change and number comes from the account, the change log or the client report.

Searching for a salon near IndiranagarDoneMeasured
Before
salon near me
Sponsoredtoniandguy.comTONI&GUY · Book an appointment

One network ad from an inherited account, sending everyone to the brand homepage.

MapsNearest salon not named in the ad

The customer works out the branch alone.

After
salon near me
Sponsoredtoniandguyhairdressing.com › salonTONI&GUY near you · Call, WhatsApp or get directions

Each salon runs its own campaign, keywords and negatives. 25 campaigns live in August.

MapsSalon-level budget

Spend follows each salon's return, read monthly in the salon P&L.

  • Google rebuilt salon by salon: one demand unit per salon plus three network units.
  • Cost per click ₹8.63 (Feb) → ₹4.58 (Aug).
  • Layout schematic. The structure and numbers come from the account and the final report.
02

Where the money leaks: the journey

This business's own path from first search to revenue. Tap a stage for the five-step leak card: what was wrong, how I found it, the evidence, what changed, and after.

01Get found (Google, Maps, Instagram)FlaggedTwo Aug campaigns (Demand Gen, Koramangala 4th PMAX) took ₹2,64,528 = 34.8% of Google spend for 7.9% of output; 10.1% of impressions served midnight-6am
Stage metricClicks Mar-Aug 2026 6,00,752 vs 1,28,225 in Mar-Aug 2025 (+369%); CPC ₹4.22 vs ₹11.34 Measuredtoniguy-final-report §01, §07
  1. 1 · What was wrong

    Two Aug campaigns (Demand Gen, Koramangala 4th PMAX) took ₹2,64,528 = 34.8% of Google spend for 7.9% of output; 10.1% of impressions served midnight-6am

  2. 2 · How I identified it

    August campaign-level export joined to account CPA (₹33.71) and hourly impression split

  3. 3 · Evidence

    Demand Gen ₹1,36,752 for 173 conversions (₹790 each) vs ₹33.71 account average MeasuredAug issue Nº08 (toniguy-july-2026-report/index_9.html) §05, §09 gaps 01, 06

  4. 4 · What changed

    Flagged in Issue Nº08 (3 Sep) with advice to switch off Demand Gen and cap Koramangala 4th at ₹60,000; no sources show it was actioned

  5. 5 · After

    Data not availableSep 2026 account data not in sources; FIN §09 says 'check whether actioned'

02Enquire (Google conversions, Meta leads/WhatsApp)FlaggedEach extra lead is worth less: revenue per Google MQL ₹3,116 (Jan-Sep 2025) to ₹1,473 (Oct-Dec 2025) to ₹1,361 (Mar-Aug 2026). Most of the drop predates the engagement.
Stage metricGoogle MQLs Mar-Aug 2026 1,18,253 vs 44,625 (+165%); Meta Aug 5,612 results at ₹31.74 Measuredtoniguy-final-report §01, §08
  1. 1 · What was wrong

    Each extra lead is worth less: revenue per Google MQL ₹3,116 (Jan-Sep 2025) to ₹1,473 (Oct-Dec 2025) to ₹1,361 (Mar-Aug 2026). Most of the drop predates the engagement.

  2. 2 · How I identified it

    Calculated from 20-month ledger (revenue / MQLs)

  3. 3 · Evidence

    Bills per 1,000 MQLs: 1,106 (Jan-Sep 2025), 512 (Oct-Dec 2025), 508 (Mar-Aug 2026) Calculatedclient monthly history (20-month ledger, identical in June/July/Aug/Final issues §07)

  4. 4 · What changed

    Not fixed. Cost per MQL rose from ₹17.13 (Feb) to ₹33.71 (Aug)

  5. 5 · After

    ₹1,305 revenue per MQL in Aug 2026 Calculatedclient monthly history (20-month ledger, identical in June/July/Aug/Final issues §07)

03Follow-up (callback, WhatsApp)Flagged1,112 Meta leads never called in June; 18 of 50 recorded outcomes were wrong numbers; no callback SLA
Stage metric160 of 1,272 logged Meta leads called in June 2026 (12.6%) MeasuredJune issue Nº06 (toniguy-june-2026-report) §08
  1. 1 · What was wrong

    1,112 Meta leads never called in June; 18 of 50 recorded outcomes were wrong numbers; no callback SLA

  2. 2 · How I identified it

    CRM call log supplied for June, 14 stores

  3. 3 · Evidence

    Called 160 / 1,272; converted 4 MeasuredJune issue Nº06 (toniguy-june-2026-report) §08

  4. 4 · What changed

    5-minute WhatsApp callback (webhook, sheet, store WhatsApp) proposed, not built

  5. 5 · After

    Data not availableCRM call log not supplied for Jul or Aug (JUL §08 note; FIN §09 item 07)

04Book a chair (website, app, CRM sheet)FlaggedNo lead-to-chair path exists in reporting: GBP actions and CRM call log not connected; Google tag on new Netlify domain unconfirmed
Stage metricApp bookings: DATA NOT AVAILABLE; app v1.0.1 in Play closed testing Data not availabletoniguy-final-report §05D
  1. 1 · What was wrong

    No lead-to-chair path exists in reporting: GBP actions and CRM call log not connected; Google tag on new Netlify domain unconfirmed

  2. 2 · How I identified it

    Gap register finding 14 and open items 06-07

  3. 3 · Evidence

    Items 06, 07 and 09 open at exit Measuredtoniguy-final-report §09

  4. 4 · What changed

    New site on Netlify, per-salon booking path, Android app in closed testing

  5. 5 · After

    Data not availableNo booking counts by source in any report

05Visit and billFlaggedMantri Avenue billed ₹7.66 L at 81% of target with zero ad spend; Koramangala 8th Block and Lavelle Road have spend and leads but no POS row
Stage metricBills Mar-Aug 2026 60,027 vs 49,368 (+21.6%); Aug 10,459 (337 a day) Measuredtoniguy-final-report §01
  1. 1 · What was wrong

    Mantri Avenue billed ₹7.66 L at 81% of target with zero ad spend; Koramangala 8th Block and Lavelle Road have spend and leads but no POS row

  2. 2 · How I identified it

    August salon P&L (POS joined to spend)

  3. 3 · Evidence

    Mantri Avenue gap to target ₹1,74,114 MeasuredAug issue Nº08 (toniguy-july-2026-report/index_9.html) §07, §09 gap 18

  4. 4 · What changed

    Recommended ₹22,000 a month for Mantri Avenue and POS reconciliation; not shown as done

  5. 5 · After

    Data not availableNo Sep data

06Ticket size (average bill)Not marketingAverage bill 5.7% below last year over Mar-Aug (₹2,683 vs ₹2,844). It started falling in Dec 2025, before the engagement; the gap to last year was -13.5% in Jan-Feb and -5.7% in Mar-Aug.
Stage metricAug 2026 ₹2,813 vs ₹2,359 in Feb 2026 and ₹2,983 in Aug 2025 Measuredtoniguy-final-report §04, §07
  1. 1 · What was wrong

    Average bill 5.7% below last year over Mar-Aug (₹2,683 vs ₹2,844). It started falling in Dec 2025, before the engagement; the gap to last year was -13.5% in Jan-Feb and -5.7% in Mar-Aug.

  2. 2 · How I identified it

    Calculated from ledger; Aug P&L shows product 5.4% and packages 28.1% of sales

  3. 3 · Evidence

    Worth ₹17.78 L a month at Aug volume (report estimate) EstimatedAug issue Nº08 (toniguy-july-2026-report/index_9.html) §09 gap 19

  4. 4 · What changed

    Gap vs last year narrowed 7.8 points while ad volume scaled. Menu, package and stylist work left to the salons.

  5. 5 · After

    ₹2,813 (-5.7% vs Aug 2025) Measuredtoniguy-final-report §04

07MeasurementFlaggedAug MQLs (22,532, all-time high) may include a conversion-counting change; near-me spend shows zero attributed conversions (₹83,489)
Stage metricAug conversion rate 19.3% on 6-12 Aug vs 1.7% on the other 24 days MeasuredAug issue Nº08 (toniguy-july-2026-report/index_9.html) §08
  1. 1 · What was wrong

    Aug MQLs (22,532, all-time high) may include a conversion-counting change; near-me spend shows zero attributed conversions (₹83,489)

  2. 2 · How I identified it

    Daily conversion-rate series flagged before review

  3. 3 · Evidence

    6-12 Aug carries most of 22,532 conversions Measuredtoniguy-final-report §09 item 01

  4. 4 · What changed

    Flagged, audit specified (one hour in conversions report)

  5. 5 · After

    Data not availableUnresolved at exit per FIN §09

03

From digital to revenue: the strongest verified chain

Verified for 3 of 6 links. The chain breaks at “Lead to booked chair”, so revenue attribution is unavailable beyond that point.

Google Ads spend, Mar-Aug 2026 (Google only, excludes Meta)₹25.36 L (+74.3% vs ₹14.54 L)Measuredtoniguy-final-report §01
Clicks into the brand6,00,752 (+369%)Measuredtoniguy-final-report §01
Google conversions (calls, directions, store visits, web)1,18,253 (+165%); Aug includes unexplained 6-12 Aug spikeMeasuredtoniguy-final-report §01, §09 item 01
Lead to booked chairChain breaks hereData not availableGBP actions and CRM call log not connected; no booking-by-source data
Bills60,027 (+21.6%). Monthly r = 0.83 between MQLs and bills over 20 months; CORRELATION onlyCalculatedclient monthly history (20-month ledger, identical in June/July/Aug/Final issues §07)
Salon revenue₹16.10 Cr (+₹2.06 Cr vs 2025); incremental ₹2.06 Cr / ₹10.81 L extra Google spend = 19.1x, not causal (new salons, season, Meta also moved)Calculatedtoniguy-final-report §01
04

Before, what I found, action, after

Verified numbers only. Where an after number does not exist yet, it says so.

Revenue growth vs same months of 2025
Before+1.3% (Jan-Feb 2026: ₹3.97 Cr vs ₹3.92 Cr) Calculatedclient monthly history (20-month ledger, identical in June/July/Aug/Final issues §07)
What I found

Bills were already +17.1% YoY; average bill was -13.5% YoY and hid the volume

Action

Store-level Google rebuild, per-salon Meta, site, reporting (not isolated by cause)

After+14.7% (Mar-Aug: ₹16.10 Cr vs ₹14.04 Cr) Measuredtoniguy-final-report §01
Google cost per click
Before₹8.63 (Feb 2026); ₹11.34 Mar-Aug 2025 Measuredtoniguy-final-report §04, §07
What I found

CPC had already fallen 39% from ₹14.23 (Jan 2025) before joining

Action

Per-store structure, curated keywords and negatives, PMax themes

After₹4.58 (Aug 2026); ₹4.22 Mar-Aug avg Measuredtoniguy-final-report §04
Bills growth vs same months of 2025
Before+17.1% (Jan-Feb 2026) Calculatedclient monthly history (20-month ledger, identical in June/July/Aug/Final issues §07)
What I found

Bills +17.0% in Jan on MQLs -20% YoY and +17.2% in Feb on MQLs +202% YoY

Action

As above, plus Meta lead and WhatsApp campaigns

After+21.6% (Mar-Aug); 60,027 bills Measuredtoniguy-final-report §01
Average bill gap vs last year
Before-13.5% (Jan-Feb 2026, ₹2,402 vs ₹2,777) Calculatedclient monthly history (20-month ledger, identical in June/July/Aug/Final issues §07)
What I found

Fall began Dec 2025; trough ₹2,359 in Feb 2026

Action

Reported and valued (₹17.78 L/month); left to salon floor

After-5.7% (Mar-Aug, ₹2,682 vs ₹2,844); Aug ₹2,813 Calculatedclient monthly history (20-month ledger, identical in June/July/Aug/Final issues §07)
Google spend per bill / revenue per Google rupee
Before₹29 / 97x (Mar-Aug 2025) Measuredtoniguy-final-report §07
What I found

Scale was bought: efficiency fell, lowest month Aug 2026 at 39x (Oct 2025: 38x)

Action

Scaled Google and added Demand Gen

After₹42 / 63x (Mar-Aug 2026); Aug ₹73 / 39x Measuredtoniguy-final-report §07
Meta cost per result
BeforeAbout ₹50 (Jun-Jul 2026 blended CPL) MeasuredJuly issue Nº07 (toniguy-july-2026-report/index.html) §07
What I found

Aug mixes lead forms, WhatsApp chats and calls; WhatsApp at K 8th Block ₹7.78 drives the average

Action

Scaled per-salon campaigns; WhatsApp objective

After₹31.74 (Aug, 5,612 results); not like-for-like MeasuredAug issue Nº08 (toniguy-july-2026-report/index_9.html) §06
05

What the history shows

Patterns found by re-reading the full history, not just the months I ran. Each is labelled: measured pattern, correlation, anomaly or seasonality.

Seasonality

Feb to Aug is a seasonal climb: 2025 did +49.5% with no rebuild; Feb 2026 was not the worst month

Revenue rises Feb to Aug every year. 2025 climbed ₹1.84 to 2.75 Cr; 2026 ₹1.91 to 2.94 Cr. Bills climbed less in 2026 than in 2025. Feb 2025 (₹1.84 Cr) is below Feb 2026, so the 'worst month in the record' line contradicts the ledger. Feb is 28 days: ₹6.82 L a day, above Jan 2026 (₹6.65 L) and Feb 2025 (₹6.57 L).

The numbers

Rev Feb to Aug: 2025 +49.5%, 2026 +53.9% (reports print +54.1%). Bills: 2025 +33.8%, 2026 +29.4%. Seasonal-shape Aug 2026 = ₹2.85 Cr vs actual ₹2.94 Cr (+3.0%). Per day, Feb 2026 ranks 4th lowest of 20 months.

So whatDo not use Feb-to-Aug as the result; use YoY. Feb 2026 is not the low point of the 20 months; Feb 2025 is. One year of seasonality only: no 2024 data.

Measured pattern

About 70% of the growth acceleration is average bill recovering, not more bills

YoY revenue went from +1.3% (Jan-Feb) to +14.7% (Mar-Aug). Bills growth moved +17.1% to +21.6%; average-bill gap moved -13.5% to -5.7%. Log decomposition gives about 30% to bills and 70% to ticket size. The fall started Dec 2025 (₹2,774), reached ₹2,439 in Jan and ₹2,359 in Feb, before the engagement.

The numbers

₹2,942 (Oct 2025) to ₹2,359 (Feb 2026) = -19.8%; Dec to Jan -12.1%. Mar-Aug 2026 weighted ₹2,682 vs ₹2,844 (-5.7%). Contribution: bills 30.2%, average bill 69.8% (calculated).

So whatThe +1.3% pre-join trend is depressed by an average-bill trough, so the 'above trend' credit to media in any above-trend attribution is probably overstated. Volume growth (+17%) was already running before March.

Anomaly

The lead step-change and the dilution happened in Oct 2025, four months before I joined

MQLs jumped 10,399 to 17,665 in Oct 2025 with CTR 1.28% to 2.40% (3.58% by Nov) and impressions halved by Nov. Revenue per MQL fell from ₹3,116 (Jan-Sep 2025) to ₹1,473 (Oct-Dec 2025), then ₹1,361 in Mar-Aug 2026. Oct-Dec 2025 averaged 17,607 MQLs a month; Mar-Aug 2026 averaged 19,709 (+11.9%). Jan-Feb 2026 test: bills +17.0% YoY in Jan with MQLs -20% YoY and spend -43%; +17.2% in Feb with MQLs +202%.

The numbers

Bills per 1,000 MQLs 1,106 to 512 to 508. Avg monthly MQLs: 7,192 (Jan-Sep 2025), 17,607 (Oct-Dec), 19,709 (Mar-Aug 2026). 58% of the CPC fall Jan 2025 to Aug 2026 (₹14.23 to 4.58) was done by Feb 2026.

So whatPart of the '+165% leads' is a step that predates the rebuild, possibly a conversion-action change (not stated). Month-to-month MQL volume has not tracked bills in the one clean test. Audit MQL definition before quoting lead growth as demand.

Correlation, not causation

Aug 2026 repeated the Oct 2025 spend spike: revenue per Google rupee 38-39x both times

Oct 2025: spend +130% on Sep, revenue +10.0%, bills +2.4%, 38x. Dec 2025 then bought 95% of Oct's MQLs on 44% of the spend, with higher revenue (111%). Aug 2026: Google spend +75% on Jul, revenue +9.7%, bills +3.5%, 39x. In 2025 Jul to Aug on flat spend revenue rose +16.5%, bills +10.2%. May 2026 record per day (₹9.58 L) came on ₹3.43 L spend; Aug per day ₹9.48 L on ₹7.60 L.

The numbers

Seasonal-shape Aug 2026 from Jul = ₹3.12 Cr vs actual ₹2.94 Cr (-5.9%). Rev/day May to Aug 2026 -1.0% while Google spend +121.6% (2025 same span +15.5% per day, spend +14.3%). YoY revenue: Apr-May +25.7% on spend +50.9%; Jun-Aug +10.1% on spend +101.2%. Marginal Oct 2025: ₹50 per extra MQL, ₹6 revenue per extra rupee.

So whatAt about ₹6.4 L+ a month Google spend has twice bought leads, not revenue. Peak efficiency months (Apr-May, ₹3.4-3.5 L) were the strongest. Season, new salons and Meta also moved, so causation is unproven.

Measured pattern

August spend is inversely related to salon revenue: 3 salons took 15% of ad money for 43% of revenue, 4 took 53% for 13%

Phoenix Mall of Asia, Phoenix MarketCity and Lulu billed 42.7% of Aug revenue on 15.0% of salon-attributed ad spend. Sadashivanagar, Nexus Vega City, Koramangala 4th Block and Hennur billed 12.6% on 53.3%. Correlation of salon revenue with ad spend is negative. The three low-return new-ish salons have average bill ₹2,278 vs ₹2,876 elsewhere.

The numbers

Salon-attributed ad spend ₹6,52,433 (of ₹10,32,325 total). Top 5 salons 57.8% of revenue, 22.6% of spend. r(revenue, spend) = -0.27 across 15 salons. Koramangala 4th, Vega City, Hennur: 8.5% of revenue, 43.9% of spend, 8.7x vs 71.5x for the rest. Top 3 salons also ₹3,268 average bill. HHI 936 (about 10.7 equal-size salons).

So whatSpend followed new-store push and targets, not return. One month only: no earlier salon-level revenue, so the trend is unknown. Network average bill gap (₹63 of ₹170) may partly be mix from low-ticket salons; Aug 2025 mix not available.

Not a marketing problem

What the data shows ads cannot fix. Saying so early saves budget.

  • Average bill ₹2,813 vs ₹2,983 in Aug 2025 (-5.7%); ₹17.78 L a month at Aug volume. Product 5.4% and packages 28.1% of sales. Menu, package and stylist conversation. It began falling in Dec 2025.
  • Follow-up: 1,112 of 1,272 Meta leads uncalled in June (12.6% called), 18 of 50 outcomes wrong numbers. Salon calling discipline, not ad delivery.
  • Mantri Avenue 81% of target (₹1,74,114 gap) with zero ads; funding is a client budget decision.
  • New salons bill below network average ticket: Vega City ₹2,166 (90% of target), K 4th Block ₹2,214, Hennur ₹2,685 (85% of target).
  • POS gaps: Koramangala 8th Block (₹38,518 spend, 2,173 leads) and Lavelle Road (₹4,561) have no POS row in Aug.
  • Seasonality: Sep 2025 vs Aug 2025 revenue -19.6%, bills -12.4%, average bill -8.4%. September is structurally softer.

Data not available

What would prove more, and does not exist in the sources yet.

  • Any data before Jan 2025: seasonality rests on one year (2025), so trend and season cannot be separated.
  • Who ran the account before 28 Feb 2026 and why spend spiked Oct 2025 (₹6.43 L) and was cut Jan 2026 (₹1.19 L); what changed in Oct 2025 (CTR 1.28% to 3.58%, impressions -48% by Nov).
  • Conversion-action definition: MQLs are calls, directions, store visits and web combined, with no split over time; only a June GBP action mix exists. A definition change in Oct 2025 cannot be ruled out.
  • Aug 6-12 conversion spike unresolved: Aug MQLs (22,532) and CPA ₹33.71 may be overstated, and the six-month totals include them.
  • Lead-to-booking data: CRM call log only for June; GBP actions not connected; no app bookings; no booking-by-source.
  • Salon-level revenue before Aug 2026, opening dates of Nexus Vega City, Lavelle Road, Koramangala 4th and 8th Block, so new-salon share of growth cannot be measured (any split is an assumption).
  • Salon count: reports say 16, but 18 names appear (POS has Mantri Avenue; K 8th Block and Lavelle Road have spend, no POS row). Whether the ₹2.94 Cr includes all salons is unresolved.
  • Margin by service, discounting or price changes, new vs repeat clients, retention, review ratings over time.
  • Meta before May 2026 and a like-for-like Meta result series (Aug 'results' mixes objectives; Jun/Jul are leads).
  • Dates of the site migration, domain switch and tag fix; whether the tag fires on toniandguyhairdressing.com.
  • Who created the 30 Jul Demand Gen ('by Ega') and who raised Demand Gen and K 4th PMAX spend in Aug after the July issue advised otherwise.
  • Sep 2026 actuals (modelled only: hold ₹2.53 Cr). The model has bills -6.1% on Aug, against -12.4% in 2025; the 2025 shape alone would give about ₹2.36 Cr.
  • Casebook items not in these four reports: payment gateway, iOS app, WhatsApp follow-up 'rolling out', 16 Business Profiles clean-up. Final report calls the WhatsApp loop 'proposed, not built'.
  • Several Jan-Jun 2026 figures are rounded in the source (e.g. 22,90,000 impressions, 1,30,000 clicks, 18,700 MQLs); May 2026 and Jun 2026 values were restated between issues.
Level 3

Implementation and data

For the team that has to run it: every action, test, date and dataset.
06

What I actually did

15 actions found in the project evidence, 10 done or live. Grouped by type, each with its source.

Paid media 4

  • Done

    Curated intent-tiered keyword lists, negative lists, full RSA sets, sitelinks, business description, lead form; rejected auto-suggested competitor and off-geo terms

    toniguy-final-report §05A
  • Done

    PMax search themes and asset groups (Lavelle Road first); Demand Gen added from 30 Jul

    toniguy-final-report §05A; July issue Nº07 (toniguy-july-2026-report/index.html) §06
  • Live

    Per-salon Meta campaigns: lead form, click-to-WhatsApp, click-to-call (26 live), from May 2026; customer-list campaign

    toniguy-final-report §05B; Aug issue Nº08 (toniguy-july-2026-report/index_9.html) §06
  • Live

    Instagram post-boost programme: 132 boosts built, 73 delivered, ₹94,667

    Aug issue Nº08 (toniguy-july-2026-report/index_9.html) §06, gap 17

Strategy 3

  • Done

    Audience naming convention [Type]_[Store]_[Intent]_[Year]

    toniguy-final-report §05A
  • Specced

    Proposed funnel-weighted attribution model, Google 60 / Meta 40

    toniguy-final-report §05E
  • Specced

    Handover checklist of 8 assets (Google Ads, Meta, GA4/tag, Netlify, app keystore, CRM sheet, data series, reports); 0 of 8 confirmed at exit

    toniguy-final-report §10

Campaign restructure 1

  • Done

    Rebuilt Google Ads by store: one demand unit per salon plus three always-on network units (25 campaigns live in Aug)

    toniguy-final-report §05A; Aug issue Nº08 (toniguy-july-2026-report/index_9.html) §05

Website 1

  • Done

    New storefront toniandguyhairdressing.com replacing toniandguy.com; moved Shopify to Netlify; Lavelle Road store site

    toniguy-final-report §05C

Tracking 1

  • In testing

    Conversion tracking on the new domain: set-up started, tag firing not confirmed

    toniguy-final-report §05C, §09 item 06

App 1

  • In testing

    Android booking app: Jetpack Compose, 6-step booking, email login with encrypted storage, HMAC-SHA256 signing; v1.0.1 in closed testing, not in production

    toniguy-final-report §05D, §09 item 09

CRM 1

  • Done

    Google Sheets CRM fed by app bookings via Apps Script

    toniguy-final-report §05D; ownership transfer in handover checklist. Booking volume DATA NOT AVAILABLE

Dashboard 1

  • Live

    Google review tracking dashboard for 16 locations

    toniguy-final-report §05E

Reporting 1

  • Done

    Monthly reports Nº06-09, 20-month demand-to-till series, salon-by-salon P&L, 19-finding gap register

    toniguy-final-report §05E; Aug issue Nº08 (toniguy-july-2026-report/index_9.html) §07, §09

WhatsApp 1

  • Specced

    Lead-to-booking automation: webhook, sheet, store WhatsApp, 5-minute callback SLA

    toniguy-final-report §09 item 08 ('proposed, not built')
Stated by Danny

In build now. Not yet in the project evidence, so no result is claimed.

  • Payment gatewayOnline payment for bookings and packages.
  • WhatsApp follow-upEvery lead to the right salon's WhatsApp in five minutes.
  • iOS appiPhone version of the booking app.
07

Tests and what they taught

Not every test worked. Each one changed the next decision.

  1. Hypothesis

    Demand Gen adds network-level demand at near-account cost (hypothesis not written in sources; implied by launch)

  2. Action

    Two Demand Gen campaigns, 30 Jul and Aug 2026

  3. Result

    July ₹4,001, 0 conversions. Aug ₹1,36,752 for 173 conversions (₹790 each) vs ₹33.71 account.

  4. Learning

    No version converted near account rates; the July issue had already advised killing it and August spend rose about 34x.

  5. Next decision

    Switch off, move budget to store PMax and Search (Issue Nº08, 3 Sep). Execution after exit not in sources.

  1. Hypothesis

    Scaling Koramangala 4th Block PMAX lifts that salon's billing

  2. Action

    PMAX spend ₹67,466 (Jul) to ₹1,27,776 (Aug, +89%)

  3. Result

    1,609 conversions at ₹79 (Jul ₹60.66). Salon billed ₹7.46 L: 4.9x on ₹1,53,007 all-in, ₹454 media per bill.

  4. Learning

    Salon beat a small target (112%) at the worst return in the network; July advice was rebuild assets before spending more.

  5. Next decision

    Cap at ₹60,000, rebuild asset group.

  1. Hypothesis

    Moving Meta budget from the seven CUT salons to the seven SCALE salons lowers lead cost (July proposal)

  2. Action

    Proposed in Issue Nº07; Aug campaign lines for the CUT salons still show about ₹6.2 K each

  3. Result

    Aug cost per result ₹31.74 vs about ₹50, but results mix lead forms, WhatsApp chats and calls; reallocation not visible in campaign spend.

  4. Learning

    The ₹31.74 is driven by K 8th Block WhatsApp at ₹7.78 and Whitefield at ₹11.76, not by the proposed reallocation.

  5. Next decision

    Compare like for like by objective; reduce duplicate campaigns (9 salons run two).

  1. Hypothesis

    Click-to-WhatsApp buys cheaper results than lead forms for the same salon (observed, not a controlled test)

  2. Action

    Parallel campaigns per salon in Aug

  3. Result

    WhatsApp cheaper in 5 of 7 salons with both (K 8th ₹8 vs 21, Whitefield 12 vs 24, Sadashivanagar 25 vs 40, K 4th 45 vs 72, MarketCity 44 vs 47); equal at Vega City; dearer at Phoenix Mall of Asia (149 vs 84).

  4. Learning

    Results are different commitments, so unit cost is not comparable.

  5. Next decision

    Tie each objective to calls and bills via CRM log before shifting budget.

08

Timeline: interventions and events

My actions sit alongside what the client, the previous team and the market did. Nothing here claims a cause.

  1. Previous team

    Ledger starts: Google spend ₹2.10 L, CPC ₹14.23, 5,200 MQLs, revenue ₹2.08 Cr, 7,219 bills

    toniguy-final-report §07
  2. Market

    Feb 2025 revenue ₹1.84 Cr: lowest month in the 20-month ledger

    toniguy-final-report §07 (ledger)
  3. Previous team

    Google spend spike to ₹6.43 L (Sep ₹2.80 L); CPC ₹13.19; MQLs 10,399 to 17,665; CTR 1.28% to 2.40%. Cause not stated.

    toniguy-final-report §07; hist caveat
  4. Previous team

    CTR 3.58%, impressions halve vs Sep (22.2 L to 11.6 L); spend ₹4.14 L

    toniguy-final-report §07
  5. Previous team

    Google spend cut to ₹1.19 L (Dec ₹2.85 L); MQLs 4,140; revenue ₹2.06 Cr, average bill ₹2,439. Reason not stated.

    toniguy-final-report §07
  6. DannyI join

    I join. Account inherited: Feb 2026 ₹1.91 Cr, 8,084 bills, CPC ₹8.63, no store-level Meta

    toniguy-final-report §04, header
  7. Danny

    Handover month. Rebuild starts; CPC ₹8.63 to 5.74, clicks nearly double (27,000 to 52,300); revenue ₹2.33 Cr (+7.4% YoY)

    toniguy-final-report §06
  8. Danny

    Revenue ₹2.65 Cr (+26.8% YoY); CPC ₹4.69, CTR 4.31%

    toniguy-final-report §06
  9. Danny

    First store-level Meta lead-form campaigns (Sadashivanagar, Lulu, K 8th Block, JP Nagar, HRBR Kalyan Nagar named 'May 2026'). Record month: ₹2.97 Cr, 10,738 bills, CPC ₹2.64

    toniguy-final-report §06; Aug issue Nº08 (toniguy-july-2026-report/index_9.html) §06 campaign names
  10. Danny

    Meta extended to every funded salon (campaigns named 'Jun 2026'); first monthly report issue (Nº06); CRM call log shows 160 of 1,272 leads called

    toniguy-final-report §06; June issue Nº06 (toniguy-june-2026-report) §08
  11. Client

    Nexus Vega City running as a 'New Store' PMax/Search store; opening date not stated

    June issue Nº06 (toniguy-june-2026-report) §05; July issue Nº07 (toniguy-july-2026-report/index.html) §06 campaign names
  12. Danny

    Issue Nº07: 60 Google campaigns exist, 24 spent; 36 dormant hold ₹18,530/day of budget; Demand Gen and Koramangala 4th PMAX flagged; Meta CUT/SCALE split proposed

    July issue Nº07 (toniguy-july-2026-report/index.html) §06-07
  13. Danny

    Booking app in closed testing (Jetpack Compose, 6-step flow); exact start date not stated

    toniguy-final-report §05D, §06
  14. Danny

    First Demand Gen campaign live ('Demand Gen - 2026-07-30 by Ega'; creator not stated); ₹4,001 spent in July, 0 conversions, status Not eligible

    July issue Nº07 (toniguy-july-2026-report/index.html) §06; toniguy-final-report §06
  15. Danny

    Demand Gen scaled: ₹1,36,752 for 173 conversions across two campaigns (incl. 'Demand Gen - Danny Aug 2026'); Koramangala 4th PMAX +89% to ₹1,27,776 despite July issue advice to rebuild first

    Aug issue Nº08 (toniguy-july-2026-report/index_9.html) §05
  16. Danny

    Lavelle Road launch: Demand Gen and Search campaigns, ₹4,561, 113 conversions, no POS row; new site toniandguylavelleroad.com

    Aug issue Nº08 (toniguy-july-2026-report/index_9.html) §05, §07; toniguy-final-report §05C
  17. Danny

    Meta lead spend ₹1.13 L to ₹1.78 L; 132 Instagram boosts built, 73 delivered (₹94,667); Google spend ₹7.60 L; total ₹10.32 L (+88.7%)

    Aug issue Nº08 (toniguy-july-2026-report/index_9.html) §06, §08
  18. Market

    Aug revenue ₹2.94 Cr (+7.0% YoY, lowest YoY growth of the six months); all-time high impressions, clicks and MQLs

    toniguy-final-report §06
  19. Danny

    6-12 Aug conversion rate 19.3% vs 1.7% other days: cause unexplained

    Aug issue Nº08 (toniguy-july-2026-report/index_9.html) §08
  20. Danny

    Issue Nº08 prepared: 19-finding gap register, salon P&L, six actions

    Aug issue Nº08 (toniguy-july-2026-report/index_9.html) header
  21. Danny

    Exit and final report (Issue Nº09); reporting closes 31 Aug

    toniguy-final-report header
  22. Danny

    Storefront toniandguyhairdressing.com replaces toniandguy.com; site moved from Shopify to Netlify; Google tag on new domain unconfirmed. Month not stated.

    toniguy-final-report §05C, §09 item 06
09

The data, month by month

Point-of-sale revenue next to Google and Meta exports, salon by salon.

Jan–Feb flat. Every month after beat 2025.

20252026

Revenue, all salons, ₹ Cr. I joined at the end of February. Measured

20 months of till data: ₹48.0 Cr

Monthly revenue, ₹ Cr. Shaded: from when I joined. Lowest month: Feb 2025, ₹1.84 Cr. Measured

Bills: 1,75,158 in 20 months

Monthly bills, all salons. Shaded: from when I joined. Measured

Google cost per click, 20 months

₹14.23 in Jan 2025 → ₹4.58 in Aug 2026. Shaded: from when I joined. Measured

Revenue per ad rupee: 183× at the top, 5× at the bottom

August 2026. Salon revenue ÷ ad spend for that salon. Dashed: median 54×. Koramangala 4th Block took 15% of ad money and returned 4.9×. Calculated

Where August's extra ₹4.85 L went

Red bars are the waste. Meta scaled while its lead cost fell 37%. Measured

Inside a TONI&GUY salon · toniandguyhairdressing.com

Evidence viewer: the client reports

Final reportPreview the reportOpen full screen →
August reportPreview the reportOpen full screen →
July reportPreview the reportOpen full screen →
June reportPreview the reportOpen full screen →
10

What I'd do next

SourcesPoint-of-sale ledger Jan 2025–Aug 2026 (20 months, ₹48.0 Cr, 1,75,158 bills), Google Ads exports Jan 2025–Aug 2026, Meta Ads Manager (26 campaigns, 132 boosts), salon point-of-sale sheets. Two salons opened in 2026, so part of the growth is new capacity; April–August alone still shows +16.0% revenue. Not causally attributed to media.Evidence labels: Measured, Calculated, Estimated, Assumption, Data not available.

Work with me

Seen a leak in your own numbers?

Send me the symptom. I'll tell you which case is closest and what I'd check first. No deck, no retainer pitch.

danieldeepak3519@gmail.comLinkedInFree 12-point check